Please find below a quick overview of Zoom's latest release that highlights the number of new enhancements created specifically for ensuring the security and privacy of their product.
For more information on these changes, please reference their Release Notes.
Security Toolbar Icon for Hosts
- The meeting host will now have a Security option in their meeting controls, which exposes all of Zoom’s existing in-meeting security controls one place. This includes locking the meeting, enabling Waiting Room, and more. Users can also now enable Waiting Room in a meeting, even if the feature was not turned on before the start of the meeting. For more information, please visit this recently published Blog.
Invite Button on Meeting Client Toolbar
- The button to invite others to join your Zoom meeting is now available at the bottom of the Participants panel
Meeting ID No Longer Displayed
- The meeting ID will no longer be displayed in the title bar of the Zoom meeting window. The meeting ID can be found by clicking on Participants, then Invite or by clicking on the info icon at the top left of the client window.
Remove Attendee Attention Tracking Feature
- Zoom has removed the attendee attention tracker feature as part of our commitment to the security and privacy of our customers. For more background on this change and how we are pivoting during these unprecedented times, please see a note from our CEO, Eric S. Yuan
Removal of the Facebook SDK in our iOS client
- We have reconfigured the feature so that users will still be able to log in with Facebook via their browser
- The option to do third-party file transfers in Meeting and Chat was temporarily disabled. Local file transfer is available with our latest release. Third-party file transfers and clickable URLs in meeting chat will be added back in an upcoming release
New Join Flow for the Web client
- By default, users will now need to sign in to their Zoom account or create a Zoom account when joining a meeting with the Web client. This can be disabled by the Admin or the User from their settings page
Join Before Host Emails Disabled
- Notifications sent to the host via email when participants are waiting for the host to join the meeting have been disabled.
Setting to Allow Participants to Rename Themselves
- Account admins and hosts can now disable the ability for participants to rename themselves in any meeting. This setting is available at the account, group, and user level in the Web portal.
Language for Directory and Company Directory (please note, this does not impact your account)
- Domain contacts: For free Basic and single licensed Pro accounts with unmanaged domains, contacts in the same domain will no longer be visible. We’ve also removed the option to auto-populate your Contacts list with users from the same domain. If you would like to keep those contacts, you can add them as External Contacts.
Change in visibility of contacts with same domain (please note, this does not impact your account)
- For Basic and single licensed Pro accounts with unmanaged domains, contacts in the same domain will no longer be visible under ‘Company Directory’ in the ‘Contacts’ tab. Consequently, for the single Pro accounts with unmanaged domains, we’ve removed the option in the admin experience to populate Company Directory with users from the same domain. If these affected users would like to keep contacts with the same domain, they can add them as External contacts. This change will not impact paid accounts with multiple licenses and all accounts with managed domains.
Please be sure to update to our latest release to take advantage of these new features. We also highly encourage you to register for our webinar to get an overview of this latest release, and subscribe to our Blog for more information and resources in the days to come.